Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Cell Repeater

  1. #1
    House SOB Little Corn Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida
    Posts
    9,077
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Cell Repeater

    So....if I want a cell repeater, using the Claro system on Big/Little Corn and a directional antenna (I already own this) .....is this the correct package?

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Dr-Tech-Cell...item51c19f786a

    For reference: http://www.worldtimezone.com/gsm.html
    Life's different here ... It's a whole 'nother pace.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Right idea, but wrong frequency. Everything here (unless something has changed) is in the 800 Mz band. You'll need some coax,, you can buy terminated pieces if you know the lengths so you don't have to install connectors,, and you will need a "local" antenna to re-emit the signal.

    This will support your internet too, if there is an internet signal available from the tower you are accessing. You need to have some distance between the "remote" which is the receiving antenna, and the "local", which will re-emit the signal. Using a higher gain directional remote, and a low gain non-directional (like a panel antenna) for the local with some distance between the two would be a good solution. You want the amplifier as close to the remote as possible, which often leads to "how do I provide power to it".

    Wilson Electronics used to have some great diagrams, tables for figuring gains and losses. but I couldn't find them on their site anymore.

  3. #3
    House SOB Little Corn Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida
    Posts
    9,077
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    My interpretation of the chart was that 2G cellular was 850 OR 1900 MHz in Nicaragua.

    Then I noticed that 3G was listed at 850 and that surprised me, figuring more bandwidth was easier at higher frequencies.

    How can I find out if 3G service is available from Big Corn?

    Thanks for the advice on component location.

    I was surprised that the retransmitted signal only covered 11,000 sq. ft. Sounded good until I figured that was only a 60 foot radius.
    Life's different here ... It's a whole 'nother pace.

  4. #4
    TRN Science officer bill_bly_ca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North of the border, south of the artic Circle (Ontario)
    Posts
    5,259
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Numerous web sites all seem to say 850 with a smattering of 1900..

    If you know someone who has an android phone on the island try some of these programs which will report the details of the cell signal there.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ster.mrf&hl=en

    This map page gives some data as well leaning to 850.. Assumption is that if you phone states 3G on the display it is 850 for sure

    http://www.worldtimezone.com/gsm.html
    ==================================================
    Dude !!!.... Its a Canal !!! Can you Dig it ??

  5. #5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Claro is 1900 mhz, Movistar is 850mhz

  6. #6
    House SOB Little Corn Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida
    Posts
    9,077
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Does Claro provide 3G service?
    Life's different here ... It's a whole 'nother pace.

  7. #7
    House SOB Little Corn Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida
    Posts
    9,077
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Quote Originally Posted by billbudsocket View Post
    Claro is 1900 mhz, Movistar is 850mhz
    Hmmm...looks like you are right... http://roamtheworldcellphones.com/gsmnicaragua
    Life's different here ... It's a whole 'nother pace.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Quote Originally Posted by Little Corn Tom View Post
    Hmmm...looks like you are right... http://roamtheworldcellphones.com/gsmnicaragua

    I could have sworn I checked this . . .AND brought down a amplifier and antennas that Phil used successfully for his CoolTop operation. This was maybe three years ago. The antennas are frequency specific too.

    If it's true, I have a very nice 850 Mz amplifier for sale New in the box, higher output than is allowed to be sold in the US.

  9. #9
    TRN Science officer bill_bly_ca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North of the border, south of the artic Circle (Ontario)
    Posts
    5,259
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Quote Originally Posted by billbudsocket View Post
    Yeah.... that's the reason Phil only had a movistar signal, because Claro is 1900mhz.

    Would the end result be a repetitive repeater then ?
    ==================================================
    Dude !!!.... Its a Canal !!! Can you Dig it ??

  10. #10
    House SOB Little Corn Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida
    Posts
    9,077
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Hmmm... starting to think that there is 3G coverage on the Corn Islands.

    https://twitter.com/Bloggeries/statu...56937032413185
    Life's different here ... It's a whole 'nother pace.

  11. #11
    Dog Whisperer cookshow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Right Here
    Posts
    4,997
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Yes we have it, have for years and it is absolute crap. Search Claro 3G on here and you can read all about it.
    ‎"You know what you say when people tell you you can't do something? Fool, shut your mouth up!"
    Ernie K Doe

  12. #12

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    I stand corrected,, from Phil:

    frequency in Nicaragua? I thought it was 850 . . . and that's what I brought down for you three years ago???? > > There is some confusion . . > > > Thanks!

    ". . .It was but they moved everything to either 1.8 or 1.9 GHz -- I forget which. Somewhere I made a post here with the frequency information. You can also look on the TELCOR site (which is where I found the info) under Enitel. That phone was 3-band so it covered the old and new frequencies...".



    I was hoping to use the Claro tower in Telpaneca for my internet. Not a problem now as I don't often stay up there, generally come back to Condega. We have a strong MoviStar signal but they claim no internet available. I'll get the different antennas and amplifier when I go back this Christmas. At least the directional antenna will be smaller.

    And,, I can still use the coax

  13. #13
    Dog Whisperer cookshow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Right Here
    Posts
    4,997
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Pretty sure I saw a poster promoting 4G at a Claro kiosk in MGA, have not even asked on the Island but will next time I go by Claro.

    Not sure what is going on with our internet on the Island, seems to be getting steadily worse, last week service was off and on continuously, and I heard it has been like that the past month or so.

    People have also been complaining about cell service, can be difficult to get a call out at times.

    I think the equipment is just outdated and overloaded, that is my only theory.

    The saving grace for me is that I seldom if ever download anything, trying to download stuff would make you crazy with off and on service and/or painfully slow connection.
    ‎"You know what you say when people tell you you can't do something? Fool, shut your mouth up!"
    Ernie K Doe

  14. #14
    TRN Science officer bill_bly_ca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North of the border, south of the artic Circle (Ontario)
    Posts
    5,259
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    3G is about 5 to 7 yrs old now - So would be the equipment on the Cell tower.

    In that salt spray the parts will degrade faster. Bet you the buddies in MGA have the tower hardware on a deprecation scale that does not meet the environment.

    Tom - This the dilemma on your part - There is a risk that the entire cell structure changing from 850 to something else over night. Most phones are Quad band, and can switch freqs on a dime - Repeaters are fixed and you would have to revisit your entire install the day after a switch..
    ==================================================
    Dude !!!.... Its a Canal !!! Can you Dig it ??

  15. #15
    TRN Science officer bill_bly_ca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North of the border, south of the artic Circle (Ontario)
    Posts
    5,259
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Maybe it is a good idea to find the Claro service guy and buy him/her a beer and ask about what is coming...
    ==================================================
    Dude !!!.... Its a Canal !!! Can you Dig it ??

  16. #16
    Para aquí para acá Jonh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    La Florida
    Posts
    15,440
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    From Cool Top to Muggy Bottom, the technical challenges are the same...

  17. #17
    House SOB Little Corn Tom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Pompano Beach, Florida
    Posts
    9,077
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Does a switch to 4G mean (demand) a frequency shift?
    Life's different here ... It's a whole 'nother pace.

  18. #18
    TRN Science officer bill_bly_ca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    North of the border, south of the artic Circle (Ontario)
    Posts
    5,259
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default Re: Cell Repeater

    Quote Originally Posted by Little Corn Tom View Post
    Does a switch to 4G mean (demand) a frequency shift?
    From my understanding - Yes - Will google through the day
    ==================================================
    Dude !!!.... Its a Canal !!! Can you Dig it ??

Similar Threads

  1. Cell phonestats / news..
    By bill_bly_ca in forum Today, in Nicaragua...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2014, 02:16 PM
  2. Buying a Cell Phone?
    By NCGirl in forum How To
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-21-2013, 09:42 PM
  3. Cell phone international
    By travelling man in forum La Esquina Tecnica
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 01:17 PM
  4. Cell Phone expenses
    By tresfrijoles in forum Cost of Living
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-10-2009, 10:35 AM
  5. Cell Phones?
    By bluefire1914 in forum Cost of Living
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-03-2008, 06:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Also visit the False Bluff Blog!