Thread: Doubling of the Flock

Blog Entries

Default Doubling of the Flock

This week saw 4 baby Pelibuey born, 3 Males and the one born a few hours ago looks to be a Gal. Was hoping for more Females but that´s how it goes. 1 stillborn and the sibling is Puny, the mother is not the best and I thought I might lose him but looks like he is going to make it. He has the Scours and was weak to begin with so I did not have much hope for him, but he was bright looking this morning and milking, think he will make it. Going to try and grab him in a bit and give him a Vitamin shot, see if that helps.
    ‎"You know what you say when people tell you you can't do something? Fool, shut your mouth up!"
    Ernie K Doe

Default Re: Doubling of the Flock

That's some good news. What are you thinking to do w them? Keep the ewe and raise the others for butchering?

Congrats on the flock doubling.
    As an aspiring Nicaraguan farmer I'm curious if you raise sheep as a business or just for the kicks? If it is a business I'm curious what your biggest obstacle as a foreign farmer is? Sorry to all you long time regulars about getting cookshows story all over again, you probably all know it,...
    I'm a cattle man myself, never did cotton (or would that be wool?) to the ovines.
    Are scours pills unavailable in Nic? Whenever I have a calf with the scours it's usually solved with one pill tubed down their throat.
    Last edited by Jimmy Torpedo; 03-02-2015 at 03:47 PM. Reason: forgot something

Blog Entries

Kwah, probably as you say, cook the males.

Jimmy, I was raised in Cow Country and been around a few, give me a pig any day. Someone from the States that seriously knows Meat Production, I think could do ok in NICA. I am a learn as I go guy, my farm is my hobby and my life so not easy to categorize.

The Pelibuey is an agreeable animal and easy to raise
    ‎"You know what you say when people tell you you can't do something? Fool, shut your mouth up!"
    Ernie K Doe